RULES AND REGULATIONS

DEPARTMENT OF OPHTHALMOLOGY, OTOLARYNGOLOGY, ORAL MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY AND DENTISTRY

NAME

The name of this organization shall be the Department of Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery and Dentistry, Saint Cloud Hospital Medical Staff.

PURPOSE

Ophthalmologists, otolaryngologists, oral surgeons, and dentists shall provide quality care for patients receiving services within their scope of practice, provide educational programs for department members, the Medical Staff, and hospital personnel as necessary, and conduct peer review of activities in order to assure that appropriate treatment is provided by all members of the Medical Staff.

MEMBERSHIP

Providers who are members in good standing of the Medical Staff shall be eligible to be members of the Department of Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery and Dentistry. Membership will be limited to those providers who are either licensed to practice dentistry or oral maxillofacial surgery in the State of Minnesota or providers who are licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy in the State of Minnesota and are Board certified or Board eligible for their respective specialty boards.

Individual providers who already have privileges in the Department of Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery and Dentistry and limit their practices to Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology, or Oral Maxillofacial surgery and have education, training and demonstrated competence in the care and management of patients may be able to maintain their privileges.

The Department of Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery and Dentistry will review and recommend membership in the department to the Credentials Committee.

ORGANIZATION

<u>Officers:</u> There shall be a Chair and Vice Chair/Co-Vice Chair whose election, tenure, qualifications, removal, functions and responsibilities are as provided for in the Medical Staff Bylaws (Article 3, Officers). The Vice Chair/Co-Vice Chair will represent the Chair in his/her absence.

The Department will have a set rotation of chair and vice chair/co-vice chair positions in a three-way rotation with a provider from each specialty: Otolaryngology, Ophthalmology, Oral Maxillofacial Surgeons (OMFS) and Dentistry. If a group (i.e., OMFS/Dentistry) decides to not have someone in the chair position when it is their turn, it goes to the next department on the list. Then each subgroup votes on the vice chair position to represent their group in the rotation. Issues that are specialty specific should be managed by the chair or vice chairperson representing that specialty.

FUNCTIONS

<u>Consultation:</u> Members of the Department of Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery and Dentistry shall provide consultation to all members of the Medical Staff of Saint Cloud Hospital upon request.

Department members are encouraged to obtain consultations and/or referrals from other clinical specialties as appropriate.

It is the duty of the Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery and Dentistry to see that those providing ophthalmology, otolaryngology, oral maxillofacial surgery, and dentistry care to patients do not fail in the matter of ordering consultations or referrals when they are needed.

<u>Education</u>: The Department Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery and Dentistry will be responsible to provide educational programs for the members of the department, for the Medical Staff, and the hospital personnel.

ADOPTION AND AMENDMENT

Rules and Regulations shall be submitted and voted upon by the membership. A majority vote is required for adoption or modification. These rules and regulations will be adopted, amended, repealed, or added to according to Article 8 of the Medical Staff Bylaws and will become effective when recommended by the Executive Committee of the Medical Staff and approved by the Board of Directors.

Reviewed: 5/10/2022