Open Accessibility Menu

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Update Learn More

Dear Friends and Neighbors,

CentraCare care givers have been working around the clock for more than 20 months to care for you, your families and friends during COVID. We are committed to caring for every Minnesotan who needs us, and nothing will prevent us from doing so – even during these never-seen-before times.

The challenge of providing this level of care is that our hospital beds are often full. ERs in all of our hospitals are packed. And our clinical teams are exhausted. Early in the pandemic, our community stepped up in amazing ways to help us. We ask that you again join us in fighting this pandemic together.

How can you help?

  • Please get your COVID vaccines and booster shots. They are proven safe and effective in reducing COVID illness, keeping people out of the hospital, and preventing death.
  • If your situation is not an emergency, please use other care options, including:
  • If this is a medical emergency, call 9-1-1, or visit the ER.

Together, we can do this. Thank you for your support.

Ken Holmen, MD
President and CEO

CentraCare Health Nurses Receive March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Awards

Published in Media Releases Author: CentraCare

St. Cloud, Minn. – Linda Chmielewski, vice president/CNO, St. Cloud Hospital Operations, and Sharon Schwantz, RN, CentraCare Health – Long Prairie, were recognized by the Minnesota March of Dimes with 2015 Nurse of the Year Awards on Oct. 17.

Chmielewski received the Leadership Award for her exemplary leadership that has demonstrated exceptional excellence in patient care and outcomes. She is a highly accomplished nursing leader who works closely with clinical care staff, organizational leaders, providers and staff.

Schwantz received the Rural Nurse Award which recognizes nurses who practice in community and rural settings including clinics and critical access hospitals. Schwantz was recognized for the work she has done in obstetrical nursing in Long Prairie.

Throughout Minnesota, 460 nurses were nominated in 16 categories that encompassed a wide range of nursing practice.