COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Update Learn More

Amal Farah, PA-C

  • About
    • Specialties: Family Medicine Physician Assistant
    • Board Certified:
      Physician Assistant
    • Gender: Female
    • Languages: English, Somali
    • Accepting New Patients
    Biography

    What I Do
    Being a physician assistant means adhering to a lifetime of learning. Given that medicine is constantly changing, it is essential to stay up-to-date and review medical literature about evidence-based medicine. My clinical interests include preventative care, short-term illnesses, chronic disease management, and promoting healthy lifestyles.

    Why I Love My Work
    My desire to become a physician assistant started when I was 18 years old. My brother, who was 14 years old at the time, was diagnosed with MS. With his diagnosis came many visits to hospitals and clinics. During these visits, I was introduced to many physician assistants who were involved in my brother’s care. I saw and valued their ability to be team players and their emphasis on comforting and reassuring my brother. These experiences led me to pursue a career as a physician assistant.

    Even before starting physician assistant training, I was interested in specializing in family medicine. What I like about family medicine is that I can care for patients from different walks of life with various medical concerns. Being a primary care provider means that I have to continually learn about many areas of medicine and I love that.

    What I love most about my job is spending quality time with patients, helping them understand their health conditions, and being an advocate for them. Making a difference in my patients’ health and life is the most rewarding feeling.

    Getting to Know Me
    As a Somali-American, I have experienced firsthand how communication barriers and cultural differences can make it harder for people to get access to health care. I want to be part of the change and I am here to support all patients in getting the health care services they need.

    Outside of work, I enjoy reading, watching Survivor, and gatherings with friends and family.

    Education
    • College
      Augsburg University, Bachelor of Arts, Chemistry
    • Training
      Augsburg University, Master of Science, Physician Assistant Studies

Dear Friends and Neighbors,

CentraCare care givers have been working around the clock for more than 20 months to care for you, your families and friends during COVID. We are committed to caring for every Minnesotan who needs us, and nothing will prevent us from doing so – even during these never-seen-before times.

The challenge of providing this level of care is that our hospital beds are often full. ERs in all of our hospitals are packed. And our clinical teams are exhausted. Early in the pandemic, our community stepped up in amazing ways to help us. We ask that you again join us in fighting this pandemic together.

How can you help?

  • Please get your COVID vaccines and booster shots. They are proven safe and effective in reducing COVID illness, keeping people out of the hospital, and preventing death.
  • If your situation is not an emergency, please use other care options, including:
  • If this is a medical emergency, call 9-1-1, or visit the ER.

Together, we can do this. Thank you for your support.

Ken Holmen, MD
President and CEO